2002 Minutes
Site Map

Meeting Minutes

April 18, 2002 Executive Committee Meeting

Present: Berlin, Dachman, Dillehay, Feinstein, Grant, Kalbhen, Korach, Melian, Pinsky, Nemeth, Racenstein, Ramsey, Ward, Vade, Vyborny

The meeting was called to order at 4:10 p.m. in the Council Room of the Standard Club.

Secretary/Treasurer Report

The minutes of the March 21, 2002, meeting were approved as submitted. The financial reports of March 1-March 31, 2002, were reviewed. Income and expense items were as expected.

CRS Meeting Location

After discussion, a proposal to move next year's meeting of the CRS to the Searle Conference Center at Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center was approved. The decision will decrease the expenses of the Society in years to come. Members of the Executive Committee were happy with the way the Society had been treated at the Standard Club.

Program Committee Report

Dr. Racenstein reported that the main speakers for next year's program have been arranged. The Executive Committee requested that there be four rather than five, 5:30 p.m., breakout sessions next year in order to improve attendance at individual sessions and because of uncertainties in audio-visual arrangements at Rush. The Executive Committee expresses its gratitude to this year's speakers.

Vendor Support

The Executive Committee voted to allow Bacon-Hedland to investigate vendor support for next year's meetings.

Golf Outing

This year's golf outing is scheduled for June 27th at the Marriott Lincolnshire Resort. Details are at the web site.

Financial Support Report

Dr. Vyborny suggested that the IRS provide greater financial support for the educational activities of the CRS. This issue will be an agenda item at the forthcoming combined IRS and CRS meeting in May 2002. Dr. Korach also asked that the issue of malpractice rates in Illinois be added to the IRS meeting agenda.

Fellowship Committee Report

The applications of Dr. Kate A. Feinstein and Dr. Ramanand M. Shetty for fellowship in the ACR have been recently approved.

Resident Section Report

Dr. Nemeth reported that Dr. Mahmood Mafee would speak on "Head and Neck Radiology" this afternoon.

Illinois Radiological Society Report

Dr. Ramsey reminded committee members of the upcoming educational conference to be held by the IRS the weekend of May 18-19 at the Westin River North in Chicago. She suggested that there be a more formal framework for coordination of IRS and CRS educational efforts in the future.

Old Business

The Executive Committee did not accept the proposal for management assistance by Bacon-Hedland due to concerns regarding funding of the proposal.

The Executive Committee thanked Dr. Vyborny for his service as President of the Society.

Having no further business, the Executive Committee adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Aruna Vade, M.D., FACR

Dinner was served to 68 people. During dinner Dr. Charles E. Mueller from ACR Council Steering Committee addressed the audience on socio-economic issues in radiology and emphasized the importance of becoming a member of the ACR. While desert was being served, Dr. Vyborny conducted a brief business meeting. Dr. Vyborny announced the results of the Resident Physician Section selections. The new resident section officers are: President: Prashant K. Chawla, M.D.; Vice President: Alexander J. Nemeth, M.D.; Program Chairman: Taylor Stroud, M.D.; Secretary: Nandita Guha, M.D.

The election of CRS officers was then held. The 2002-2003 officers of the Chicago Radiological Society are: Dr. Aruna Vade, President; Dr. Michael Racenstein, Program Chair/President-Elect; Dr. Ed Melian, Secretary-Treasurer/Vice-President. The new first-year trustees for 2002-2003 are: Drs. John F. Hibbelen and Ellen B. Mendelson. Continuing trustees include Drs. Carl Kalbhen, Abraham H. Dachman, Jay Korach and Margaret Stull.

Dr. Vade presented Dr. Vyborny with a plaque in recognition of his service and leadership as President of the Society. She then introduced Dr. Eric Hart, who introduced Dr. Melissa L. Rosado De Christenson who spoke on "Differential Diagnosis of Mediastinal Masses."

Back to main Minutes page

Back to top

Welcome | Schedule | Minutes | Officers | History
Links | Bylaws | Contact | Site Map | Home
Copyright ©2006 Chicago
Radiological Society
Site design/maintenance
by famous birthdays
Read rule34